DOTA 2

Talk on any game/console that doesn't have its own forum, including browser-based games

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Dog Pants
Site Moderator
Site Moderator

DOTA 2

Post by Dog Pants »

I'll put a thread here in case this takes off with a few of us. It's not really a 5punky game, and is apparently one of the worst culprits for MOBA trolls, but it stands out because we don't have to play with randoms - we can have any number of 5punkers and bots (up to ten), which instantly elevates it to king MOBA for 5punky pissabouts. However, all MOBAs are slippery fish and can easily turn you off if you go in blind. I was going to write a quick beginner's guide (I'm a beginner too), but PCGamesN's Phill Cameron (also PCG staff writer) has written a great one which explains the basic terminology and tactics, and might give you a pointer on where to start. My suggestion though, which I can't see him mention, is that you try a few characters out and persevere with them over a few bot matches - all of them seem shit until you get the hand of them, but in the hands of a player who knows them they become devastating. So play about with the ones you like the sound of, google them, get an idea of how to play them, and you'll hopefully enjoy the game.
Dr. kitteny berk
Morbo
Morbo

Re: DOTA 2

Post by Dr. kitteny berk »

Things I've learned:

Start with a ranged char, melee is just a bit of a pain in the arse until you're used to moving etc.

You will lose lots, and you will die to fuck, all the time.

Playing with 3 easy bots and 1 normal bot on your team, vs 4 easy bots on the other team gives you a fair chance of not losing horribly enough to get the hang of what you're playing.
Dr. kitteny berk
Morbo
Morbo

Oh yeah. and RUN AWAY.
Dog Pants
Site Moderator
Site Moderator

Post by Dog Pants »

After hunting around a lot I've found here to be about the best (and only) place for decent guides.
Joose
Turret
Turret

Post by Joose »

Dr. kitteny berk wrote:Oh yeah. and RUN AWAY.